Go Back   Rotary Car Club > Tech Discussion > Carburetors and Carb Tuning..

Carburetors and Carb Tuning.. All info about old school carb set ups..

Old 08-22-2009, 09:15 AM   #1
Rotary_Rocket_87
2nd Generation Freak

Rotary_Rocket_87 is on a distinguished road
Default throwing some ideas around in my head. need pro input

the motor in my car blew a few weeks ago and I am trying to decide what I want to do for a rebuild. I have been tossing the idea of a carb setup around in my head but i have a few questions. If i do go carb i am thinking of using my 13bt block with high compression rotors, no turbo, but i was wondering can you run premix through a carb or will that cause problems? I have very little carb experience and i have read alot of the carb discussions in this section but didn't see anything on premixing with a carb.

Also, how much of a pain is it to run dual sidedrafts? i know that syncing the carbs is somewhat involved, but i could handle it (i hope). Like i said this is just throwing ideas around, nothing is set in stone with how i am going to build this motor, other than using as many parts that i already have from my 13bt. I like the simplicity of a carb setup and the 22 year old electronics in my car have me hesitant to stay EFI, and i don't have the kind of money to go with a standalone ECU.

Thanks for any input.

'87 TII- full emissions removal, a/c removed, FPD removed, dual 12" e-fans, Rotary Performance FCD, ACT unsprung 6 puck w/ Xtreme PP, custom open 2.5 inch exhaust, custom clutch pivot ball, K&N cone filter, TB mod, RB downpipe, motor blown 8/7/09

'94 Mazda B4000- POS beater truck, stock

"The easiest way to fail is to never try." - Me
Rotary_Rocket_87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 01:39 PM   #2
PercentSevenC
Custom User Title

PercentSevenC is on a distinguished road

Premixing works fine in a carb. I'm doing it right now.