Go Back   Rotary Car Club > Vendors and Group Buys > All Vendors > Re-Speed

Re-Speed www.re-speed.com (GA) Custom rotary parts, specializing in 85-older

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2008, 08:48 PM   #1
one320fc
one Apex @ a time
 
one320fc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Culpeper VA
iTrader: (1)
Posts: 272
Rep Power: 11
one320fc is on a distinguished road
Default Question about your brake kit

So is it possible to use your front brake kit with S4 4 lug hubs and T2 4 pot calipers? I would like to stay 4 lug if possible and have the bigger brakes. Thanks again for the great things your doing for the FB community!!!
one320fc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 09:59 AM   #2
bwaits
Talk - Action = Nothing
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
iTrader: (3)
Posts: 166
Rep Power: 11
bwaits is on a distinguished road
Default

Sure thing!

Use a 4 lug FC hub, our kit and 4 piston calipers. Drill a 5 lug turbo rotor to 4 lug pattern.

When drilling a 5 lug to 5 lug you will pick up on one of the 5 lug holes and then drill 3 new holes on the 4 lug pattern.

For the rear you need GSL-SE axles and to drill the rotors the same way.

-billy
__________________
bwaits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2008, 12:42 PM   #3
fire85gslse
RCC Addict
 
fire85gslse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Middle TN
iTrader: (0)
Posts: 1,030
Rep Power: 12
fire85gslse is on a distinguished road
Default

sweet idea for the GSL-SE!
Thanks billy for your great products for the 1st gens.
__________________
I own A few Rotaries and Yes, I have a rotary problem. (SELLING OFF All my parts)
79SA(Respeed Car),93 FD (tweakit)
fire85gslse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 01:58 PM   #4
Whizbang
Respecognize!
 
Whizbang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Δx = ħ/2Δp
iTrader: (5)
Posts: 3,190
Rep Power: 14
Whizbang will become famous soon enough
Default

i have a continued question.

I bought the front brake kit as of 10 minutes ago.

While i have the assembly to run 5 lug in the front, can stock rx7 15" wheels work? I am aware that the 14" wheels would only work with the single piston 4 lug stuff (since it came with a 14" wheel) but i would rather have the 4 piston calipers and just deal with having a different wheel up front for now.
__________________
For current updates and event coverage check out
Follow on Twitter! @WhizbangRally
Whizbang Rally's Webpage | Facebook
Whizbang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 04:36 PM   #5
bwaits
Talk - Action = Nothing
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
iTrader: (3)
Posts: 166
Rep Power: 11
bwaits is on a distinguished road
Default

15" is the minimum on diameter. The backspace of the wheel will need to be 4.5".

-billy
__________________
bwaits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 05:17 PM   #6
Whizbang
Respecognize!
 
Whizbang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Δx = ħ/2Δp
iTrader: (5)
Posts: 3,190
Rep Power: 14
Whizbang will become famous soon enough
Default

so would a stock rx7 wheel work?
__________________
For current updates and event coverage check out
Follow on Twitter! @WhizbangRally
Whizbang Rally's Webpage | Facebook
Whizbang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 08:52 PM   #7
Rogue_Wulff
Non Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
iTrader: (0)
Posts: 310
Rep Power: 11
Rogue_Wulff is on a distinguished road
Default

I believe you would need something else than stock FC wheels. I read somewhere that the FC 5 lug upgrade on an FB requires around +15mm offset wheels.
Rogue_Wulff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2008, 11:29 AM   #8
Whizbang
Respecognize!
 
Whizbang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Δx = ħ/2Δp
iTrader: (5)
Posts: 3,190
Rep Power: 14
Whizbang will become famous soon enough
Default

another question, since i am using GSLSE spindles, the assembly PDF says the 1/8" spacer is for non-se cars, so to make sure, that means i do not use the spacer when installing the kit, and just bolt the mount plate to the hub, correct?
__________________
For current updates and event coverage check out
Follow on Twitter! @WhizbangRally
Whizbang Rally's Webpage | Facebook
Whizbang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2008, 04:38 PM   #9
bwaits
Talk - Action = Nothing
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
iTrader: (3)
Posts: 166
Rep Power: 11
bwaits is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes, FC wheels need a 1" spacer from what I hear.

THat part of the assembly manual is a mistake. The one that ships with the kits will have that marked out. That is only for the rear kits. A bit of copy/paste mess up.

So, you WILL use the spacers.

-billy
bwaits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 07:02 AM   #10
Whizbang
Respecognize!
 
Whizbang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Δx = ħ/2Δp
iTrader: (5)
Posts: 3,190
Rep Power: 14
Whizbang will become famous soon enough
Default

so i did some number crunching.

i want to use the BBS Vert wheels. Now they are supposedly a 15"x6" with a +38 offset

So that would mean "0" offset would be at a 3" backspace. The difference is then 38mm which divided by 25mm (~1 inch) i would have 1.52 inches.

So that would give me a total of about 4.52 inches of backspacing on a vert wheel

so they "should" work. yay! Now just waiting around for the kit to arrive.
__________________
For current updates and event coverage check out
Follow on Twitter! @WhizbangRally
Whizbang Rally's Webpage | Facebook
Whizbang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 03:17 PM   #11
Rogue_Wulff
Non Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
iTrader: (0)
Posts: 310
Rep Power: 11
Rogue_Wulff is on a distinguished road
Default

Just remember that with 1" spacers, you really should use longer studs. The stock studs will likely be too short to allow the wheels to be torqued down properly. Anything less than 7 full turns on the lugnuts, is a disaster waiting to happen.
Rogue_Wulff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 08:14 AM   #12
Whizbang
Respecognize!
 
Whizbang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Δx = ħ/2Δp
iTrader: (5)
Posts: 3,190
Rep Power: 14
Whizbang will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Low Impedance View Post
so i did some number crunching.

i want to use the BBS Vert wheels. Now they are supposedly a 15"x6" with a +38 offset

So that would mean "0" offset would be at a 3" backspace. The difference is then 38mm which divided by 25mm (~1 inch) i would have 1.52 inches.

So that would give me a total of about 4.52 inches of backspacing on a vert wheel

so they "should" work. yay! Now just waiting around for the kit to arrive.
so after checking they are 6.5" wheels so i will rerun some numbers then.

15"x6.5" with a +38 offset.

so "0" offset would be about 3.25" backspace. So in total, 3.25" plus 1.52" inch would give 4.77" backspacing. That is a bit over what will easily fit, so a space will be needed, but not TOO bad of a size. Ill probably run a slightly stretched tire on it with something like a 45 sidewall. Ill see what clears from there.
__________________
For current updates and event coverage check out
Follow on Twitter! @WhizbangRally
Whizbang Rally's Webpage | Facebook
Whizbang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 04:29 PM   #13
Whizbang
Respecognize!
 
Whizbang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Δx = ħ/2Δp
iTrader: (5)
Posts: 3,190
Rep Power: 14
Whizbang will become famous soon enough
Default

hoping to get the kit installed this weekend!

Also is the PDF now updated and correct? I have SE front spindles, so does that mean i will have to use the spacers correct?
__________________
For current updates and event coverage check out
Follow on Twitter! @WhizbangRally
Whizbang Rally's Webpage | Facebook

Last edited by Whizbang; 03-12-2009 at 04:32 PM..
Whizbang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 05:01 PM   #14
bwaits
Talk - Action = Nothing
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
iTrader: (3)
Posts: 166
Rep Power: 11
bwaits is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Low Impedance View Post
hoping to get the kit installed this weekend!

Also is the PDF now updated and correct? I have SE front spindles, so does that mean i will have to use the spacers correct?
Gold spacers are always used on the front kit. No matter the spindles. Ignore that part in the front manual.
-billy
__________________
bwaits is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Hosted by www.GotPlacement.com
Ad Management by RedTyger