Rotary Car Club

Rotary Car Club (http://rotarycarclub.com/rotary_forum/index.php)
-   How To Use The Forum (http://rotarycarclub.com/rotary_forum/forumdisplay.php?f=213)
-   -   Why can't I attach images to posts anymore? (http://rotarycarclub.com/rotary_forum/showthread.php?t=19770)

Pete_89T2 09-02-2018 12:00 PM

Why can't I attach images to posts anymore?
 
It would appear you can't attach images to your posts here anymore. While trying to post a write-up to the 2nd gen section, I tried to attach some JPG pictures with no luck. I've done this successfully many many times in the past & know the procedure, so that's not the issue.

Anyway, with the first image I attempted to post via "manage attachments" function, it refused and told me the image size was too big - mine was something like 4096 x 2048, and it said we're limited to 1200 x 1200. Ok, no problem - I used some software to reduce the image size down by 75% to 1024 x 512, tried to upload that JPG file instead and it still wouldn't work. What gives? A car forum that doesn't allow picture posting is pretty useless. :banghead:

FC Zach 09-03-2018 11:45 PM

I don't have an answer for this particular issue but I can say that using an image hosting site (I use Flickr) is without a doubt the best way I've shared pictures. No attachments to open for the end user. . and all around easier for the poster.

t_g_farrell 09-04-2018 11:14 AM

What Zach said. Be aware some hosting sites make it almost impossible to embed your photos in other web sites (google anyone). I gone back to flickr as well for some of my pic posting needs.

Pete_89T2 09-05-2018 07:30 AM

Yeah, I thought about using one of the image hosting/cloud storage sites but that has its problems too as you guys mentioned. Would be much better to be able to just upload your picture here on RCC so it can be embedded right in the post - much easier for the reader and poster. We used to be able to do this; RCC forum is broken.

chibikougan 09-07-2018 11:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pete_89T2 (Post 344859)
Yeah, I thought about using one of the image hosting/cloud storage sites but that has its problems too as you guys mentioned. Would be much better to be able to just upload your picture here on RCC so it can be embedded right in the post - much easier for the reader and poster. We used to be able to do this; RCC forum is broken.

We have been reduced to the Basic Plan...:willy_nilly:

ygz 12-11-2018 10:41 AM

Hm. What happened to the flexibility of forum software? Has it all been bought up and sabotaged by faecesbook? No wonder open forums are on the decline... :07: When the internet no longer allows you to discuss your hobby with like-minded people online without agreeing to sell your soul and integrity to the likes of Zuckerberg and his profit-making goons, what's the point?

chibikougan 12-11-2018 12:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ygz (Post 344928)
Hm. What happened to the flexibility of forum software? Has it all been bought up and sabotaged by faecesbook? No wonder open forums are on the decline... :07: When the internet no longer allows you to discuss your hobby with like-minded people online without agreeing to sell your soul and integrity to the likes of Zuckerberg and his profit-making goons, what's the point?

Nope it is owned by the same person. Seems Instagram and other Social Media is the way to go these days Pete. If you're not showing the world everything you are doing it does not seem to be worth it anymore.

Where is Brian? He quit being a Mod?


Donate button is gone too...


Hey anyone here moderating this piece. Saw Ted the other day.

Gonna post some black boxes...:suspect:

chibikougan 12-11-2018 12:49 PM

I contacted a webmaster..

ygz 12-11-2018 04:01 PM

-"Open the door, Hal"
-"Sorry, Dave, etc..."

ygz 12-12-2018 04:40 AM

Dear Admin: Before you start fading away and singing "Daisy, daisy" may I suggest the following. If you want to keep the forum going and attract new posts, please pretty please:
1) Create an archive for posts older than 5 years of age. A new user faced by posts from 2005 on the front page will inevitably recoil and turn back.
2) Limit the number of topics to maximum 5 (this limits the problem described in point 1 above) Better to have some activity in a few threads than have your live threads drowning in an ocean of dead ones.
3) Extend (yes, you can do it!) the size of attached and embedded images to maximum settings.
4) Sit back and relax, post a message at least twice a week, and people will start coming back.
You have a tiny core of understandably disillusioned, but die-hard rotary activists here. You can use it for something or not. But if not, please have the courtesy to politely tell us to leave, then close this site properly.

A PM of this post has been sent to Admin. Further activity of this member pending response.

RETed 12-12-2018 06:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by chibikougan (Post 344929)
Hey anyone here moderating this piece. Saw Ted the other day.

I don't think the owner gives a rat's ass...
Seriously.

I do what I can, but I'm limited to the Tech sections.

I've reported spammers (spamming other sections outside of Tech sections), but nothing gets done anymore.
So, owner / admin / supermods are all basically all gone.

All the kiddies went to Facebook...and now Instagram...?
I'm too old to jump platforms.

As an update, I finally got my finances under control to start spending money on the FC...
The chassis is tired, but I figured it deserves some upgrades.
If you follow my posts, I've had to rebuild my turbo...
I've finally decided to drop the cash for Stack Pro-Control gauges - cha-ching!
But, I've devised a plan to NOT install a dozen gauges into the car!
My Haltech E8 is getting tired, and I'm looking to jump to an Elite 550...

I've just got my "dream wheels" slapped with tires, so I'll throw some pics up soon.


-Ted

Pete_89T2 12-12-2018 09:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RETed (Post 344937)
I don't think the owner gives a rat's ass...
Seriously.

I do what I can, but I'm limited to the Tech sections.

I've reported spammers (spamming other sections outside of Tech sections), but nothing gets done anymore.
So, owner / admin / supermods are all basically all gone.


^That's what I figured. I emailed the webmaster at least 2x about this with zero response, using the "contact webmaster" link. Funny thing is my picture posting problem may be tied to just my account - I've seen a few recent (i.e., last few months) postings by others who were able to post pictures. WTF?





Quote:

Originally Posted by RETed (Post 344937)
But, I've devised a plan to NOT install a dozen gauges into the car!
My Haltech E8 is getting tired, and I'm looking to jump to an Elite 550...


If the Elite 550 has CAN bus, there are a number of CAN bus gauges on the market now that can basically display whatever your ECU spits out on the bus, so 1 or 2 gauges gives you everything you could want. I'm using one of these BTI gauges with my AEM Infinity: http://www.btigauges.com/aem-infinity.html


Here's another vendor's product that appears to offer more flexibility in programming exactly what you want to display. Kind of makes me wish I knew about them before buying the BTI gauge!


https://gaugeart.com/product/gaugeart-can-gauge/

chibikougan 12-12-2018 12:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RETed (Post 344937)
I don't think the owner gives a rat's ass...
Seriously.

I do what I can, but I'm limited to the Tech sections.

I've reported spammers (spamming other sections outside of Tech sections), but nothing gets done anymore.
So, owner / admin / supermods are all basically all gone.

All the kiddies went to Facebook...and now Instagram...?
I'm too old to jump platforms.

As an update, I finally got my finances under control to start spending money on the FC...
The chassis is tired, but I figured it deserves some upgrades.
If you follow my posts, I've had to rebuild my turbo...
I've finally decided to drop the cash for Stack Pro-Control gauges - cha-ching!
But, I've devised a plan to NOT install a dozen gauges into the car!
My Haltech E8 is getting tired, and I'm looking to jump to an Elite 550...

I've just got my "dream wheels" slapped with tires, so I'll throw some pics up soon.


-Ted

Saweet yeah I have seen you where posting so I figured something changed for the up and up. Good to hear.

chibikougan 12-12-2018 12:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pete_89T2 (Post 344939)
^That's what I figured. I emailed the webmaster at least 2x about this with zero response, using the "contact webmaster" link. Funny thing is my picture posting problem may be tied to just my account - I've seen a few recent (i.e., last few months) postings by others who were able to post pictures. WTF?








If the Elite 550 has CAN bus, there are a number of CAN bus gauges on the market now that can basically display whatever your ECU spits out on the bus, so 1 or 2 gauges gives you everything you could want. I'm using one of these BTI gauges with my AEM Infinity: http://www.btigauges.com/aem-infinity.html


Here's another vendor's product that appears to offer more flexibility in programming exactly what you want to display. Kind of makes me wish I knew about them before buying the BTI gauge!


https://gaugeart.com/product/gaugeart-can-gauge/


I emailed and got a response but I have no idea how to operate a forum....:lol:

Also I used PLX Devices to use a single gauge. They where nice

RETed 12-12-2018 11:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pete_89T2 (Post 344939)
If the Elite 550 has CAN bus, there are a number of CAN bus gauges on the market now that can basically display whatever your ECU spits out on the bus, so 1 or 2 gauges gives you everything you could want. I'm using one of these BTI gauges with my AEM Infinity: http://www.btigauges.com/aem-infinity.html


Here's another vendor's product that appears to offer more flexibility in programming exactly what you want to display. Kind of makes me wish I knew about them before buying the BTI gauge!


https://gaugeart.com/product/gaugeart-can-gauge/

I'm too old-school to deal with CANbus stuff. :)

I'm also old-school that I prefer analog (display) gauges...
I have a couple of old SPI Motorsport gauges that have really nice backlighting, but I've lost the pressure sensor for the fuel pressure gauge, and I can't find a replacement.
I've been eyeing the Stack stuff for years but never had the money to go after them - each gauge is $200+.
I also was trying to cut down the number of gauge installed, cause it's just mentally fatiguing to scan all of them!
Current have:
* 60mm peak / hold GReddy boost gauge
* 60mm peak / hold GReddy EGT gauge
* J&S dual knock + narrow-band O2 display
* 52mm SPI fuel pressure gauge (not working, no sensor)
* 52mm SPI water temp gauge
* 2-1/8" VDO oil temp gauge
* 2-1/8" VDO oil pressure gauge
* 46mm HKS voltmeter - for system voltage
* 46mm HKS voltmeter - for fuel pump voltage

I'm going to consolidate the oil temp and water temp gauge by running a DPDT switch to switch between the sensors and running a single gauge.
I'm going to consolidate the oil pressure and fuel pressure gauge by running a DPDT switch to switch between...
I'm going to consolidate the system voltage and fuel pump voltage by running a DPST switch between...
You get the idea. :)


-Ted


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Hosted by www.GotPlacement.com
Ad Management by RedTyger